Tuesday, May 28, 2013

Early Review: Binding the Shadows by Jenn Bennett


Title: Binding the Shadows
Author: Jenn Bennett
Series: Arcadia Bell #3
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Publisher: Pocket Books
Format: ebook, 384 pages
Source: Author
Release Date: May 28, 2013
Buy the Book: Amazon | B&N
Demons sure know how to kill a girl’s buzz . . .

Renegade mage and bartender Arcadia Bell has had a rough year, but now the door to her already unstable world is unhinging. When a citywide crime wave erupts, Cady’s demon-friendly tiki bar is robbed by Earthbounds wielding surreal demonic abilities that just flat-out shouldn’t exist.

With the help of her devilishly delicious boyfriend, Lon Butler, Cady sets out to find the people who wronged her—but her targets aren’t the only ones experiencing unnatural metamorphoses. Can Cady track down the monsters responsible before the monster inside her destroys everything—and everyone—she loves? If she survives this adventure, one thing is certain: it’s last call for life as she knows it.



Jenn Bennett does it again...wow what a book! This newest installment in the Arcadia Bell series will leave you speechless and craving more! Fans of Cady, Lon, Jupe and company will fall in love all over again. Arcadia Bell is unquestionably one of my favorite heroines in Urban Fantasy!

Binding the Shadows jumps right into action as Cady and Lon are on a mission to find a demon for the Hellfire Club's leader, Ambrose Dare. Just when she's trying to lead a "normal" life, her magical abilities continue to develop and Cady finds they are slipping out of her control. When her business partner and friend Kar Yee is caught in the middle of a robbery at the Tambuku Tiki Lounge by some unknown Earthbounds with demonic abilities, Cady must use all her resources to find the culprits before they hurt anyone else. Only one thing stands in her way...her own demons.
"I was a fool to think I could ever stop running. I could never have a normal life. Everything I had was lost before I ever found it."
This is one of my favorite new urban fantasy series and I always love coming back to the fantastic world of Arcadia Bell and its superb characters. I've become completely invested in Cady, Lon and Jupe from book one, so much that I can't help but connect with every emotion her characters experience...yes, the writing's that good! It's like reuniting with some of your long time favorite friends. We're also introduced to some new characters which include Jupe's mom and Lon's ex wife Yvonne (who did absolutely nothing to redeem herself in my eyes) and her family, which makes for a few awkward moments and family drama! In the midst of all the magical chaos and danger, there is one constant throughout the story that thrives, Cady and Lon's passionate relationship (love them!).
Then he said, "My seat goes all the way down."

"What a coincidence. So do I."
Even with all the action taking place it's Cady's personal struggle and relationships that take center stage in Binding the Shadows. Cady has always been an imperfect but kick ass heroine which is why I'm such a fan. She leads with her heart, makes mistakes but her loyalty to those she cares for should never be questioned. Her journey in this book is quite emotional and the author flawlessly conveys it through her writing, leaving room for the occasional smart mouth remark and humor that is typical of our feisty heroine and supporting characters. We even get a little sexy time with Cady and Lon that was way overdue in my opinion! (Thanks Jenn!)
"It was like some sort of sensitive housewife had taken over my body and was sitting around watching Lifetime movies and Hallmark commercials."
This is one of those books that you want to devour in a day but wish you hadn't when you turn the last page and realize the next book won't be out for a while. The pacing never falters and Ms. Bennett knows how to bring you up to speed without information overload. Binding the Shadows is an intense, emotional read that will leave you at a loss for words...and an even bigger fan of Jenn Bennett! I could rave some more about how fabulous this book is but wouldn't want to spoil the experience for the readers. Magic, mystery, danger and a sensual romance are guaranteed...so, what are you waiting for? Binding the Shadows is by far the best book in the series and Cady continues to raise the bar with each new book. Hands down a top 2013 read!

My Rating




  Books in the Series:

4 comments:

  1. This is totally one of those books you want to savor but you just... can't. It's one of my top reads of 2013 too. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Exactly Carmel! I can't wait for the next installment...that cliffhanger was torture! Thanks for stopping by :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. I could not agree more with you :) Loved this book.

    ReplyDelete
  4. "This is one of those books that you want to devour in a day but wish you hadn't when you turn the last page and realize the next book won't be out for a while". Absolutely 100% agree with you. Great review! :)

    ReplyDelete

This Blog is an Award Free Blog. I love comments...so go ahead and romance me with your thoughts, that's all the award I need!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...